faisal-samra.jpg

Faisal Samra

37,05€ 39,00Discount: 5%

Prodotto

click and select...
Prodotto
Add to Cart
Buy width 266 points
You will earn
38 Skira points
/
Faisal Samra
Faisal Samra

Distorted Reality / La réalité déformée

description
Read more
Faisal Samra is part of a generation of contemporary Arab artists who have assimilated the dictates of figurative culture yet broken away from the classic avenues of representation to sunder a host of taboos and dogmas. His work intermixes performance art with video, installation and photography. A recurrent theme is the body, which becomes a territory where geographies and cultures meet and intermix, unite or stand in counterposition.
Many of his works represent the artist, cloaked in masks, veils, or bandages that conceal his face. He contorts into complexly gnarled postures which at times make him look as if he is suffocating, trying desperately to free himself. These expressive images evoke an existential torment à la Francis Bacon, an emotional and spiritual force.
A Saudi national born in Bahrain, graduating from the Paris École des beaux-arts, Faisal lives and works in Bahrain and Paris. Sharing a plurality of cultures and nurtured in the soils of different seas, the artist is particularly intent on articulating the individual-collective dichotomy.
In her essay on Faisal Samra, Roxana Azimi offers us an angle on the artist that allows us to better appreciate his attitude and approach. She probes his images to reveal their tremendous polysemic richness. In his biography, Gilles de Bure invites us to follow the artist’s path, amplifying its resonance with the contemporary world.
Reduce
details
Year2012
AuthorRoxana Azimi, Gilles de Bure
LanguageBilingual French English
ISBN885721097
EAN9788857210971
Dimensions24 x 30cm
Pages160
Colour illustrations187
ArgumentArt
shipment Shipments on national territory and abroad in 4/5 working days.

FREE DELIVERY

Free delivery inside Italy
on orders over €50.00

CLUB SKIRA

With Skira Card you can enter
the world of great art
Discover Club Skira

F.A.Q.

Answers to frequently asked questions
Read the FAQ

NEWSLETTER

All the latest on the art world,
events and exclusive benefits
Register for our Newsletter

© 2021 Skira Editore All rights reserved – VAT n°: 11282450151

logo-3mediastudio logo-antworks

faisal-samra.jpg

Faisal Samra

37,05€ 39,00Sconto: 5%

Prodotto

fai click e scegli...
Prodotto
Aggiungi al Carrello
Acquistabile con 266 punti
Con questo acquisto potrai accumulare
38 punti Skira
/
Faisal Samra
Faisal Samra

Distorted Reality / La réalité déformée

descrizione
Continua a leggere
Faisal Samra fait partie de cette génération d’artistes contemporains arabes qui, après avoir assimilé la culture de l’image, se sont émancipés des voies classiques de la représentation et font aujourd’hui voler en éclats bon nombre de dogmes et de tabous. Il développe un travail où s’entremêlent les pratiques de performance, vidéo, installation et photographie avec pour thème récurrent le corps qui devient un territoire où les géographies, les cultures s’amalgament, se rencontrent ou s’opposent.
Plusieurs de ces œuvres représentent l’artiste, couvert de masques, de voiles ou de bandages qui vont jusqu’à faire disparaître son visage. Il se contorsionne dans des postures noueuses, complexes qui lui donnent parfois l’air d’étouffer, comme s’il cherchait désespérément à se libérer. Il se dégage de ces images expressives, évoquant un trouble de l’être dans l’héritage de Francis Bacon, une force émotionnelle et spirituelle.
Né au Bahreïn, de nationalité saoudienne, diplômé de l’École des beaux-arts de Paris, Faisal vit et travaille entre le Bahreïn et Paris. Partagé entre plusieurs cultures et nourri d’alluvions multiples, cet artiste est particulièrement soucieux d’articuler l’individuel et le collectif.
Dans son essai sur Faisal Samra, Roxana Azimi nous offre quelques prises de position de l’artiste qui nous permettent de mieux appréhender sa démarche. Interrogeant ses images, elle nous en dévoile aussi toute la richesse polysémique. Quant à Gilles de Bure, il nous invite à suivre le parcours de l’artiste en le mettant en résonance avec le monde contemporain.
Mostra meno
specifiche
Anno di pubblicazione2012
AutoreRoxana Azimi, Gilles de Bure
LinguaBilingue Francese Inglese
ISBN885721097
EAN9788857210971
Formato24 x 30cm
Pagine160
Illustrazioni a colori187
ArgomentoArte
spedizioni Spedizioni su territorio nazionale e all'estero in 4/5 giorni lavorativi.

CONSEGNA GRATUITA

Per gli ordini di spesa superiore a
€ 50,00 la consegna sarà gratuita
in tutto il territorio nazionale

CLUB SKIRA

Con Skira Card entri
nel mondo della grande arte
Scopri il Club Skira

F.A.Q.

Le risposte alle domande più frequenti
Leggi le F.A.Q.

NEWSLETTER

Tutte le novità sul mondo dell'arte,
eventi e vantaggi in esclusiva
Iscriviti alla Newsletter

© 2021 Skira Editore Tutti i diritti riservati – P.IVA: 11282450151

logo-3mediastudio logo-antworks